Das italienische Weindepot
 
 

Blog: Ricci Curbastro | Lombardy




The Ricci Curbastro family has a centuries-old agricultural tradition, reflected in the wineries of Rontana di Brisighella (Ravenna) and Capriolo in Franciacorta (Brescia), the latter of which was already producing bottled wines in the nineteenth century, as evidenced by labels dating back to 1885, which are still preserved today. In the same year that the Franciacorta DOC was created, 1967, Gualberto Ricci Curbastro began to transform the farm into a modern vineyard and wine production company. Of the 32 hectares of the winery, 27 are planted with vines, according to the strict guidelines of modern viticulture and the Franciacorta Consortium, of which Ricci Curbastro has been a member since its inception.

The cellar, where the fermentation and slow aging of Franciacorta DOCG wines takes place, is located underground in a centuries-old complex; above it is Villa Evelina. The experienced oenologists Andrea Rudelli, Annalisa Massetti and Riccardo Ricci Curbastro are responsible for the winemaking. The wide experience of the team allows to produce wines for increasingly demanding customers and connoisseurs around the world. The Ricci Curbastro winery produces several Franciacorta DOCG types: A Brut without vintage, the Extra Brut as well as the Saten Brut (both with vintage). In addition, a wide range of still wines: Terre di Franciacorta Rosso and Bianco, as well as barrel-aged versions of these in outstanding years.

After a first fermentation in steel tanks or in wooden barrels, a slow second fermentation in the bottle begins in the spring of the year following the harvest, with the tirage (addition of the tirage liqueur). This process is carried out strictly according to the traditional methods practiced in Franciacorta and supervised by the Consorzio, of which Ricci Curbastro is also a member. After 30 months of aging on the lees, the lees are removed and the bottle is topped up with the shipping dosage. The wine is then aged on the bottle for a few more months. Due to the complex production process, the vintage of Franciacorta is to be interpreted somewhat differently than that of white wine, for example. To enjoy Franciacorta in all its diversity, it should be served at about 10 degrees Celsius, in a wide and high glass (the Franciacorta goblet), so that the complexity of the aromas can be perceived. - Gerardo [TS12/22]

"Riccardo Ricci Curbastro knows the history of Franciacorta very well. His family is one of the original members of the appellation, his father Gualberto was instrumental in the founding of the DOC in 1967, Riccardo himself was consortium president when the growing area received DOCG certification in 1995: 'Since 2011, Franciacorta has had a planting freeze, which allows us to keep the market in balance. This is an important tool that the consortiums have, because it protects against overproduction and price erosion. An appellation is, at the end of the day, a single, large producer of a product and, as such, it must see that it keeps an eye on the evolution." - MERUM

"Riccardo Ricci Curbastro is a winemaker and oenologist with heart and soul. When he took over the family winery in the mid-eighties, he immediately set about the careful restoration of the cellar and vineyards. Within a short time he already counted among the best of the DOC, a status that he knows how to maintain to this day. Ricci Curbastro, who lives in the chic family villa in Capriolo, now owns almost 30 hectares of vineyards in prime locations and supplies a complete range of Franciacorta and still wines." - Gambero Rosso


Ricci Curbastro Lombardei © www.riccicurbastro.it

Profile
NameRicci Curbastro
CategoryLombardy
Founding Year1885
OwnerRiccardo Ricci Curbastro
OenologistAndrea Rudelli, Annalisa Massetti & Riccardo Ricci Curbastro
Annual Production (Btls)240.000
Vineyard Area (Hectare)30
Additional PurchaseNo
CultivationConventional
Family-run / Small WineryYes

Shop: Ricci Curbastro
´Vigna Santella del Gröm´ · Curtefranca Rosso DOC 2016, Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei

Vigna Santella del Gröm · Curtefranca Rosso DOC 2016, Ricci Curbastro


Ricci Curbastro, Lombardy
€ 14,95
19,93 €/L
Franciacorta Brut DOCG (2019), Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei

Franciacorta Brut DOCG (2019), Ricci Curbastro


Ricci Curbastro, Lombardy
€ 23,95
31,93 €/L
´Curtefranca´ · Terre di Franciacorta Rosso DOC 2019, Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei

Curtefranca · Terre di Franciacorta Rosso DOC 2019 (Bio), Ricci Curbastro


Ricci Curbastro, Lombardy
€ 9,95
13,27 €/L
Franciacorta Brut Rosè DOCG (2019), Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei

Franciacorta Brut Rosè DOCG (2019), Ricci Curbastro


Ricci Curbastro, Lombardy
€ 27,95
37,27 €/L
Franciacorta Extra Brut DOCG 2019, Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei

Franciacorta Extra Brut DOCG 2019, Ricci Curbastro


Ricci Curbastro, Lombardy
€ 27,95
37,27 €/L
´Gualberto´ · Franciacorta Dossagio Zero MAGNUM DOCG 2005 (1er Geschenkbox), Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei

Gualberto · Franciacorta Dossagio Zero MAGNUM DOCG 2005 (1er Geschenkbox), Ricci Curbastro


Ricci Curbastro, Lombardy
€ 79,00
52,67 €/L

Das italienische Weindepot
 
 

Blog: Ricci Curbastro | Lombardei




Die Familie Ricci Curbastro kann auf eine jahrhundertealte landwirtschaftliche Tradition zurückblicken, die sich in den Weingütern Rontana di Brisighella (Ravenna) und Capriolo in Franciacorta (Brescia) widerspiegelt, von denen letzteres bereits im 19. Jahrhundert Flaschenweine herstellte, wie die noch heute erhaltenen Etiketten aus dem Jahr 1885 belegen. Im selben Jahr, in dem die Franciacorta DOC geschaffen wurde, nämlich 1967, begann Gualberto Ricci Curbastro mit der Umwandlung des Betriebs in ein modernes Weingut und Weinproduktionsunternehmen. Von den 32 Hektar des Weinguts sind 27 mit Reben bepflanzt, und zwar nach den strengen Richtlinien des modernen Weinbaus und des Konsortiums Franciacorta, dem Ricci Curbastro seit seiner Gründung angehört.

Die Kellerei, in der die Gärung und der langsame Ausbau der Franciacorta DOCG-Weine stattfindet, befindet sich unterirdisch in einem jahrhundertealten Komplex; darüber liegt die Villa Evelina. Die erfahrenen Önologen Andrea Rudelli, Annalisa Massetti und Riccardo Ricci Curbastro sind für die Weinherstellung verantwortlich. Die große Erfahrung des Teams ermöglicht es, Weine für immer anspruchsvollere Kunden und Kenner in der ganzen Welt zu produzieren. Das Weingut Ricci Curbastro stellt mehrere Franciacorta DOCG-Typen her: Einen Brut ohne Jahrgang, den Extra Brut sowie den Saten Brut (beide mit Jahrgang). Darüber hinaus gibt es eine breite Palette von Stillweinen: Terre di Franciacorta Rosso und Bianco, sowie in herausragenden Jahren auch im Fass gereifte Versionen dieser Weine.

Nach einer ersten Gärung in Stahltanks oder in Holzfässern beginnt im Frühjahr des auf die Ernte folgenden Jahres eine langsame zweite Gärung in der Flasche mit der Tirage (Zugabe des Tiragelikörs). Dieser Prozess wird streng nach den traditionellen Methoden der Franciacorta durchgeführt und vom Consorzio überwacht, dem auch Ricci Curbastro angehört. Nach 30 Monaten Reifung auf der Hefe wird die Hefe entfernt und die Flasche mit der Versandmenge aufgefüllt. Anschließend wird der Wein noch einige Monate auf der Flasche gelagert. Aufgrund des komplexen Herstellungsprozesses ist der Jahrgang des Franciacorta etwas anders zu interpretieren als beispielsweise der eines Weißweins. Um den Franciacorta in seiner ganzen Vielfalt zu genießen, sollte er bei etwa 10 Grad Celsius in einem breiten und hohen Glas (dem Franciacorta-Kelch) serviert werden, damit die Komplexität der Aromen wahrgenommen werden kann. - Gerardo [TS12/22]

"Riccardo Ricci Curbastro kennt die Geschichte der Franciacorta bestens. Seine Familie gehört zum Urgestein der Appellation, sein Vater Gualberto war an der Gründung der DOC im Jahr 1967 maßgeblich beteiligt, Riccardo selbst war Konsortiumspräsident, als das An- baugebiet 1995 die DOCG-Zertifizierung erhielt: 'Seit 2011 gilt in der Franciacorta ein Pflanzstopp, der es uns ermöglicht, den Markt im Gleichgewicht zu halten. Dies ist ein wichtiges Instrument, das die Konsortien haben, denn es schützt vor Überproduktion und Preisverfall. Eine Appellation ist letzten Endes ein einziger, großer Erzeuger eines Produktes, und als solcher muss er zusehen, dass er die Entwicklung im Auge behält." - MERUM

"Riccardo Ricci Curbastro ist mit Leib und Seele Winzer und Önologe. Als er Mitte der Achtzigerjahre das Familienweingut übernahm, ging er sofort an die behutsame Restaurierung von Keller und Weinbergen. Binnen Kurzem schon zhählt er zu den Besten der DOC, ein Status, den er bis heute zu behaupten weiß. Ricci Curbastro, der in der schicken Familienvilla in Capriolo lebt, besitzt mittlerweile fast 30 Hektar Rebflächen in Bestlage und liefert ein Komplettprogramm von Franciacorta- und Stillweinen." - Gambero Rosso


Ricci Curbastro Lombardei © www.riccicurbastro.it

Steckbrief
NameRicci Curbastro
RubrikLombardei
Gründungsjahr1885
EigentümerRiccardo Ricci Curbastro
ÖnologeAndrea Rudelli, Annalisa Massetti & Riccardo Ricci Curbastro
Jahresproduktion (Fl.)240.000
Rebfläche (Hektar)30
TraubenzukaufNein
BewirtschaftungKonventionell
Familiengeführt / KleinkellereiJa

Shop: Ricci Curbastro
Franciacorta Brut MAGNUM DOCG (2019) (1er Geschenkbox), Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei

Franciacorta Brut MAGNUM DOCG (2019) (1er Geschenkbox), Ricci Curbastro


Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei
€ 54,95
36,63 €/L
Franciacorta Extra Brut DOCG 2019, Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei

Franciacorta Extra Brut DOCG 2019, Ricci Curbastro


Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei
€ 27,95
37,27 €/L
Franciacorta Brut DOCG (2019), Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei

Franciacorta Brut DOCG (2019), Ricci Curbastro


Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei
€ 23,95
31,93 €/L
´Vigna Santella del Gröm´ · Curtefranca Rosso DOC 2016, Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei

Vigna Santella del Gröm · Curtefranca Rosso DOC 2016, Ricci Curbastro


Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei
€ 14,95
19,93 €/L
Franciacorta Brut Rosè DOCG (2019), Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei

Franciacorta Brut Rosè DOCG (2019), Ricci Curbastro


Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei
€ 27,95
37,27 €/L
´Gualberto´ · Franciacorta Dossagio Zero DOCG 2013, Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei

Gualberto · Franciacorta Dossagio Zero DOCG 2013, Ricci Curbastro


Ricci Curbastro, Lombardei
€ 39,95
53,27 €/L