Das italienische Weindepot
 
 0 Warenkorb
Barbera | Grape variety 1/2

Barbera | Grape variety 1/2

Barbera is a northern Italian grape variety best known for the Piedmontese wines Barbera d'Alba and Barbera d'Asti, which produce fresh, light red wines with low tannin content. Along with Nebbiolo and Dolcetto, it is synonymous with Piedmont, although this dark-skinned grape variety is found in several Italian wine regions, including the native Piedmont, Emilia-Romagna, Puglia, Campania and even the islands of Sicily and Sardinia.

Barbera nera is popular for producing colorful, fruity red wines with light to medium flavor, low tannin and high acidity. Its soft tannin profile distinguishes it from Nebbiolo, its more prestigious - and very tannic - counterpart from Piedmont. As a result, Barbera is used in both blended wines and varietal wines - the latter becoming more common as Italy focuses more on varietal labeling.

When young, most Barbera wines have a light red, cherry character, distinguished from Nebbiolo (which often overshadows Barbera) by softer tannins and a certain roundness. Barrel aging followed by bottle aging produces a denser, tart cherry note. Barrel aging can also add wood tannins that can balance the generally low tannins of the variety. A warm, Merlot-like plum note is also common, although the varietal is more related to Mourvèdre than Merlot in terms of flavor profile. When overheated, a Barbera vine produces comparatively flat, dull wines with notes of prunes and raisins, while its trademark cherry flavor tends toward the cherry. - Gerardo



Browse: Next 10 Products | Page: 1


Mommiano Barbera d'Alba DOC 2018, Marco Porello, Piemont

Mommiano Barbera d'Alba DOC 2018


Marco Porello, Piedmont

The color is ruby red with a violet core. The bouquet is typical Barbera of red fruits and some sour curd. The palate is wonderfully juicy, with harmonious acidity and subtle minerality. Overall, the Barbera 'Mommiano' is a well-made classic with a decent price. - Gerardo

"With fruity cherry and currant notes and an earthy aroma blues, the excellent Barbera d'Alba Mommiano entertains the nose; smooth, fresh and fruity its taste. - Gambero Rosso

   0,75-L 14,5 % Vol.  contains Sulfites  plus ShippingPrice incl. VAT (DE) in stock

 € 9,25 € 8,90 11,87 €/L
   

Mommiano Barbera d'Alba DOC 2021, Marco Porello, Piemont

Mommiano Barbera d'Alba DOC 2021


Marco Porello, Piedmont

The color is ruby red with a violet core. The bouquet is typical Barbera of red fruits and some sour curd. The palate is wonderfully juicy, with harmonious acidity and subtle minerality. Overall, the Barbera 'Mommiano' is a well-made classic with a decent price. - Gerardo

"With fruity cherry and currant notes and an earthy aroma blues, the excellent Barbera d'Alba Mommiano entertains the nose; smooth, fresh and fruity its taste. - Gambero Rosso

   0,75-L 14,5 % Vol.  contains Sulfites  plus ShippingPrice incl. VAT (DE) in stock

 € 9,25 12,33 €/L
   

´Paolina´ Barbera d'Alba DOC 2019, Ca' del Baio, Piemont

Paolina Barbera d'Alba DOC 2019


Ca' del Baio, Piedmont

Fresh, pleasantly drinkable red wine with a delicate acidity. The typical Barbera nose announces coniferous wood and violet scents. Harmonious on the palate of measured bitterness. The aging took place in large wooden barrels for further refinement. - Gerardo

   0,75-L 14 % Vol.  contains Sulfites  plus ShippingPrice incl. VAT (DE) in stock

 € 10,50 13,27 €/L
   

´Mon Ross´ Barbera d'Asti DOCG 2020, Forteto della Luja, Piemont
Mon Ross Barbera d'Asti DOCG 2020

Forteto della Luja, Piedmont

In the glass bright cherry red with garnet reflections. The bouquet conveys hints of fresh red fruits and violets. Fresh, juicy and youthful on the palate. 100% Barbera. - Gerardo

   0,75-L 13,5 % Vol.  contains Sulfites  plus ShippingPrice incl. VAT (DE) in stock

 € 9,95 13,27 €/L
   

´Vigna Santa Rosalia´ Barbera d'Alba DOC 2018, Giacomo Brezza & Figli, Piemont
Vigna Santa Rosalia Barbera d'Alba DOC 2018

Giacomo Brezza & Figli, Piedmont

Barbera of traditional style and rich ruby color. The bouquet is typical of the grape variety and recalls ripe red berry fruit. On the palate of noticeable tannin, fine streak of acidity and medium length. - Gerardo [TS06/19]

"Dark, bright ruby red with a brilliant core. A bit closed on the nose, light spicy notes, fleshy. Light on the palate with a fruity mid-palate, lean body, lively acidity, still enjoys good length on the finish." - Falstaff

   0,75-L 14 % Vol.  contains Sulfites  plus ShippingPrice incl. VAT (DE) in stock

 € 11,95 15,93 €/L
   

Barbera d'Alba DOC 2019, Renato Corino, Piemont
Barbera d'Alba DOC 2019

Renato Corino, Piedmont

Bright ruby red in color, the bouquet is reminiscent of noble plum as well as black currants. Fresh and full-bodied on the palate, with lively acidity. - Gerardo

"With its pure-toned, modern, powerful Barolo and Barbera labels, it manages the balancing act between richness and elegance in perfectly balanced harmony." - Gambero Rosso

   0,75-L 14 % Vol.  contains Sulfites  plus ShippingPrice incl. VAT (DE) in stock

 € 11,95 € 10,99 14,65 €/L
   

Barbera d'Alba Superiore DOC 2017, Giacomo Brezza & Figli, Piemont
Barbera d'Alba Superiore DOC 2017

Giacomo Brezza & Figli, Piedmont

The Barbera plantings of this high quality site (Cannubi Muscatel) date back to 1942 and produce grapes of excellent quality. The color of Barbera d'Alba is strong ruby red with dense dark core. The typical Barbera nose is expansive with berry fruit and meadow herbs. The palate is powerful with ripe tannins and of good length. - Gerardo [TS06/18]

"Rich, bright ruby red. Smells of ripe cherries and violets on the nose, inviting. Round and clear on the palate with a pleasant melt and juicy core, lively, exciting and fresh, good length." - Falstaff

   0,75-L 14,5 % Vol.  contains Sulfites  plus ShippingPrice incl. VAT (DE) Stock 20

 € 16,50 22,00 €/L
   

Barbera d'Alba Superiore DOC 2018, Giacomo Brezza & Figli, Piemont
Barbera d'Alba Superiore DOC 2018

Giacomo Brezza & Figli, Piedmont

The Barbera plantings of this high quality site (Cannubi Muscatel) date back to 1942 and produce grapes of excellent quality. The color of Barbera d'Alba is strong ruby red with dense dark core. The typical Barbera nose is expansive with berry fruit and meadow herbs. The palate is powerful with ripe tannins and of good length. - Gerardo [TS06/19]

"Rich, bright ruby red. Smells of ripe cherries and violets on the nose, inviting. Round and clear on the palate with a pleasant melt and juicy core, lively, exciting and fresh, good length." - Falstaff

   0,75-L 14 % Vol.  contains Sulfites  plus ShippingPrice incl. VAT (DE) Stock 16

 € 17,50 23,33 €/L
   

´Le Grive´ Monferrato Rosso DOC 2019, Forteto della Luja, Piemont
Le Grive Monferrato Rosso DOC 2019

Forteto della Luja, Piedmont

Monferrato Rosso Le Grive leaves a unique impression: the pronounced aroma recalls fresh fruit with hints of vanilla and exotic spices. The palate is fresh, velvety and with a long finish. - Gerardo

"With the Pinot offering its classic berryish scent and Barbera adding flavor impact and structure, Le Grive is surprisingly seamless. It also ages beautifully, emerging over time as a stylish, even elegant red wine." - Matt Kramer (Wine Spectator)

   0,75-L 14,5 % Vol.  contains Sulfites  plus ShippingPrice incl. VAT (DE) in stock

 € 17,95 23,93 €/L
   

Barbera d'Alba Vigna Pozzo DOC 2018, Renato Corino, Piemont
Barbera d'Alba Vigna Pozzo DOC 2018

Renato Corino, Piedmont

Fine Barbera from the famous single vineyard 'Vigna Pozzo': dark ruby red with violet inclusions in the glass. In the fragrance of ripe plums, chocolate and spicy herbs. On the palate, full of finesse, of particular density and fullness with grape variety-typical, memorable streak of acidity. - Gerardo

"Dense and concentrated Barbera, impenetrable in color, tart-sweet on the nose with hints of cherries and exotic spices." - Dr. Jens Priewe

   0,75-L 15 % Vol.  contains Sulfites  plus ShippingPrice incl. VAT (DE) in stock

 € 27,50 36,67 €/L
   


Browse: Next Blog: Barbera

Barbera | Grape variety 1/2 | gerardo.de

Barbera, formerly called the 'people's grape', is a red grape variety grown in Piedmont, which has been cultivated in Monferrato since the Middle Ages. Today Barbera is widespread throughout Italy (mainly Piedmont), adaptable and high-yielding. The wines made from it are powerful, with relatively low tannin and tight acidity. Not much remains of the former surpluses of the 1980s, and winemakers now take great care of their Barbera. Some also like to grow this grape variety in wooden barrels (e.g. in small barrique barrels).

Already cultivated in the 13th century in Monferrato, the high-quality Barbera grape is now widespread throughout Italy. The powerful wines made from this autochthonous red grape variety are appreciated for their distinct fruity aromas. The Barbera grape today ranks third among the top Italian red wine varieties: right after Sangiovese and Montepulciano.

Sometimes the Barbera grape is also called 'the people's grape of Piedmont' because of its versatility and high yield. Barbera is still the most widespread grape variety in Piedmont, dominating the provinces of Asti and Alessandria, but the grape variety is also strongly present in the areas of Cuneo and Turin. The medium-sized pyramid-shaped, winged grapes with heavily ripened, blue-black berries are endowed with considerable acidity levels and are used in numerous wines, most of which are prestigious and can be aged for a long time. - Gerardo

Das italienische Weindepot
 
 0 Warenkorb
Barbera | Rebsorte

Barbera | Rebsorte

Barbera ist eine norditalienische Rebsorte, die vor allem für die piemontesischen Weine Barbera d'Alba und Barbera d'Asti bekannt ist und frische, leichte Rotweine mit geringem Tanningehalt hervorbringt. Zusammen mit Nebbiolo und Dolcetto ist sie ein Synonym für das Piemont, obwohl diese dunkelhäutige Rebsorte in mehreren italienischen Weinregionen vorkommt, darunter im heimischen Piemont, in der Emilia-Romagna, in Apulien, Kampanien und sogar auf den Inseln Sizilien und Sardinien.

Die Barbera nera ist beliebt für die Herstellung farbintensiver, fruchtiger Rotweine mit leichtem bis mittlerem Geschmack, wenig Tannin und hohem Säuregehalt. Sein weiches Tanninprofil unterscheidet ihn vom Nebbiolo, seinem prestigeträchtigeren - und sehr tanninreichen - Gegenstück aus dem Piemont. Daher wird der Barbera sowohl in Mischweinen als auch in Rebsortenweinen verwendet - letztere werden immer häufiger, da Italien sich immer mehr auf die Etikettierung nach Rebsorten konzentriert.

In jungen Jahren haben die meisten Barbera-Weine einen hellroten, kirschroten Charakter, der sich vom Nebbiolo (der den Barbera oft überschattet) durch weichere Tannine und eine gewisse Rundheit unterscheidet. Bei der Reifung im Fass und der anschließenden Lagerung in der Flasche entsteht eine dichtere, säuerliche Kirschnote. Die Reifung im Fass kann auch Holzgerbstoffe hinzufügen, die die im Allgemeinen geringen Tannine der Sorte ausgleichen können. Auch eine warme, Merlot-ähnliche Pflaumennote ist häufig zu erkennen, obwohl die Sorte vom Geschmacksprofil her eher mit Mourvèdre als mit Merlot verwandt ist. Wenn eine Barbera-Rebe überhitzt wird, bringt sie vergleichsweise flache, dumpfe Weine mit Noten von Backpflaumen und Rosinen hervor, während ihr Markenzeichen, der Kirschgeschmack, in Richtung Kirsche geht. - Gerardo



9 Artikel


Mommiano Barbera d'Alba DOC 2018, Marco Porello, Piemont

Mommiano Barbera d'Alba DOC 2018


Marco Porello, Piemont

Die Farbe ist rubinrot mit violettem Kern. Das Bouquet ist Barbera-typisch nach roten Früchten und etwas Sauerquark. Am Gaumen wunderbar saftig, von harmonischer Säure und dezenter Mineralik. Insgesamt ist der Barbera 'Mommiano' ein gut gemachter Klassiker mit einem ordentlichen Preis. - Gerardo

'Mit fruchtigen Kirschen- und Johannisbeernoten sowie einem erdigem Aromablues unterhält der ausgezeichnete Barbera d'Alba Mommiano die Nase; geschmeidig, frisch und fruchtig sein Geschmack. - Gambero Rosso

   0,75-L 14,5 % Vol.  enthält Sulfite  zzgl. VersandPreis inkl. USt am Lager

 € 9,25 € 8,90 11,87 €/L
   

Mommiano Barbera d'Alba DOC 2021, Marco Porello, Piemont

Mommiano Barbera d'Alba DOC 2021


Marco Porello, Piemont

Die Farbe ist rubinrot mit violettem Kern. Das Bouquet ist Barbera-typisch nach roten Früchten und etwas Sauerquark. Am Gaumen wunderbar saftig, von harmonischer Säure und dezenter Mineralik. Insgesamt ist der Barbera 'Mommiano' ein gut gemachter Klassiker mit einem ordentlichen Preis. - Gerardo

'Mit fruchtigen Kirschen- und Johannisbeernoten sowie einem erdigem Aromablues unterhält der ausgezeichnete Barbera d'Alba Mommiano die Nase; geschmeidig, frisch und fruchtig sein Geschmack. - Gambero Rosso

   0,75-L 14 % Vol.  enthält Sulfite  zzgl. VersandPreis inkl. USt am Lager

 € 9,25 12,33 €/L
   

´Paolina´ Barbera d'Alba DOC 2019, Ca' del Baio, Piemont

Paolina Barbera d'Alba DOC 2019


Ca' del Baio, Piemont

Frischer, angenehm trinkiger Rotwein mit feinnervigem Säurespiel. Die typische Barbera Nase kündet von Nadelholz und Veilchenduft. Harmonisch am Gaumen von bemessenem Bitterstoff. Der Ausbau erfolgte zur weiteren Verfeinerung im großen Holzfass. - Gerardo

   0,75-L 14 % Vol.  enthält Sulfite  zzgl. VersandPreis inkl. USt am Lager

 € 10,50 13,27 €/L
   

´Mon Ross´ Barbera d'Asti DOCG 2020, Forteto della Luja, Piemont
Mon Ross Barbera d'Asti DOCG 2020

Forteto della Luja, Piemont

Im Glas leuchtendes Kirschrot mit granatfarbenen Reflexen. Das Bouquet vermittelt Anklänge an frische rote Früchte und Veilchen. Am Gaumen frisch, saftig und jugendlich. 100% Barbera. - Gerardo

   0,75-L 13,5 % Vol.  enthält Sulfite  zzgl. VersandPreis inkl. USt am Lager

 € 9,95 13,27 €/L
   

Barbera d'Alba DOC 2019, Renato Corino, Piemont
Barbera d'Alba DOC 2019

Renato Corino, Piemont

Leuchtendes Rubinrot in der Farbe, das Bouquet erinnert an Edelpflaume sowie schwarze Johannisbeeren. Am Gaumen frisch und körperreich, mit lebendiger Säure. - Gerardo

'Mit seinen reintönigen, modernen, kraftvollen Barolo- und Barbera-Etiketten gelingt ihm der Spagat zwischen Reichhaltigkeit und Eleganz in bestens ausjustierter Harmonie.' - Gambero Rosso

   0,75-L 14 % Vol.  enthält Sulfite  zzgl. VersandPreis inkl. USt am Lager

 € 11,95 15,93 €/L
   

´Vigna Santa Rosalia´ Barbera d'Alba DOC 2018, Giacomo Brezza & Figli, Piemont
Vigna Santa Rosalia Barbera d'Alba DOC 2018

Giacomo Brezza & Figli, Piemont

Barbera von traditioneller Machart und satter rubinroter Farbe. Das Bouquet ist typisch für die Rebsorte und erinnert reife rote Beerenfrüchte. Am Gaumen von spürbarem Tannin, feiner Säuresträhne und mittlerer Länge. - Gerardo

'Dunkles, leuchtendes Rubinrot mit brillantem Kern. In der Nase etwas verschlossen, leichte Würzenoten, fleischig. Am Gaumen leichtfüßig mit fruchtigem Mittelteil, schlanker Körper, lebhafte Säure, genießt im Abgang dennoch gute Länge.' - Falstaff

   0,75-L 14 % Vol.  enthält Sulfite  zzgl. VersandPreis inkl. USt am Lager

 € 11,95 15,93 €/L
   

Barbera d'Alba Superiore DOC 2017, Giacomo Brezza & Figli, Piemont
Barbera d'Alba Superiore DOC 2017

Giacomo Brezza & Figli, Piemont

Die Barbera Anpflanzungen dieser hochwertigen Lage (Cannubi Muscatel) stammen aus dem Jahre 1942 und bringen Trauben von exzellenter Qualität hervor. Die Farbe des Barbera d'Alba ist kräftiges rubinrot mit dichtem, dunklem Kern. Die typische Barbera Nase ist ausladend und von Beerenfrucht und Wiesenkräutern geprägt. Am Gaumen kraftvoll mit reifen Tanninen und von guter Länge. - Gerardo

'Sattes, leuchtendes Rubinrot. Duftet nach reifen Kirschen und Veilchen in der Nase, einladend. Rund und klar am Gaumen mit angenehmem Schmelz und saftigem Kern, lebendig, spannungsvoll und frisch, gute Länge.' - Falstaff

   0,75-L 14,5 % Vol.  enthält Sulfite  zzgl. VersandPreis inkl. USt Noch 20

 € 16,50 22,00 €/L
   

´Le Grive´ Monferrato Rosso DOC 2019, Forteto della Luja, Piemont
Le Grive Monferrato Rosso DOC 2019

Forteto della Luja, Piemont

Der Monferrato Rosso Le Grive hinterlässt einen einzigartigen Eindruck: Der ausgeprägte Duft erinnert an frische Früchte mit Anklängen von Vanille und exotischen Gewürzen. Am Gaumen frisch, samtig und mit langem Nachhall. - Gerardo

'With the Pinot offering its classic berryish scent and Barbera adding flavor impact and structure, Le Grive is surprisingly seamless. It also ages beautifully, emerging over time as a stylish, even elegant red wine.' - Matt Kramer (Wine Spectator)

   0,75-L 14,5 % Vol.  enthält Sulfite  zzgl. VersandPreis inkl. USt am Lager

 € 17,95 23,93 €/L
   

Barbera d'Alba Vigna Pozzo DOC 2018, Renato Corino, Piemont
Barbera d'Alba Vigna Pozzo DOC 2018

Renato Corino, Piemont

Feiner Barbera aus der berühmten Einzellage 'Vigna Pozzo': Dunkles Rubinrot mit violetten Einschlüssen im Glas. Im Duft nach reifen Zwetschgen, Schokolade und Gewürzkräutern. Am Gaumen finessenreich, von besonderer Dichte und Fülle mit rebsortentypischer, einprägsamer Säuresträhne. - Gerardo

'Dicht und konzentriert der Barbera, undurchdringlich in der Farbe, herb-süß in der Nase mit einem Hauch von Kirschen und exotischen Gewürzen.' - Dr. Jens Priewe

   0,75-L 15 % Vol.  enthält Sulfite  zzgl. VersandPreis inkl. USt am Lager

 € 27,50 36,67 €/L
   

Blog: Barbera
 

Barbera | Rebsorte | gerardo.de

Barbera, ehemals als die 'Volkstraube' bezeichnet, ist eine rote Rebsorte auf dem Piemont, welche bereits seit dem Mittelalter im Monferrato angebaut wird. Heute ist Barbera in ganz Italien (vorwiegend Piemont) verbreitet, anpassungsfähig und ertragsstark. Die aus ihr gekelterten Weine sind kraftvoll, mit relativ geringem Tannin und einer straffen Säure. Von den einstigen überschüssen der achtziger Jahre ist nicht mehr viel geblieben, die Winzer kümmern sich heute sehr um ihren Barbera. Manche bauen diese Rebsorte auch gerne im Holzfass (z.b. im kleinen Barriquefass aus).

Bereits im 13. Jahrhundert im Monferrato angebaut ist die hochwertige Barbera Traube heute in ganz Italien verbreitet. Die aus dieser autochthonen Rotwein-Rebsorte gekelterten, kraftvollen Weine werden wegen Ihrer ausgeprägt fruchtigen Aromen geschätzt. Die Barbera Traube rangiert heutzutage auf Platz drei unter den italienischen Top-Rotweinsorten: Gleich nach Sangiovese und Montepulciano.

Manchmal wird die Barbera-Traube wegen ihrer Vielseitigkeit und des hohen Ertragsreichtums auch 'die Volkstraube des Piemont' genannt. Barbera ist auch heute noch die im Piemont verbreitetste Rebsorte und dominiert in den Provinzen Asti und Alessandria, die Rebsorte ist aber auch in den Gebieten von Cuneo und Turin stark vertreten. Die mittelgroßen pyramidenförmigen, geflügelten Trauben mit stark bereiften, blauschwarzen Beeren sind mit beachtlichen Säuregehalten ausgestattet und finden in zahlreichen, zum Großteil renommierten und lange lagerfähigen Weinen Verwendung. - Gerardo