Das italienische Weindepot
 
 
Grillo | Grape variety Grillo | Grape variety

Grillo | Grape variety



The late-ripening white wine variety Grillo is now mainly native to Sicily. However, this was not always the case. It only arrived on the peninsula at the end of the 19th century after the great phylloxera disaster from the Italian province of Apulia. During the phylloxera infestation, most of the native varieties there were destroyed, so farmers now turned to particularly resistant varieties, which include Grillo. In Sicily, it is still cultivated today in all regions. On the mainland, it is still permitted in the province of Brindisi. However, in addition to Italy, there are also some other countries that grow Grillo. For example, there are small growing areas in Australia, Mexico and Brazil.

Grillo is a white wine variety that yields a pale yellow wine. It was first used in Sicily in the famous dessert wine Marsala, for which it is still the basis today. Generally, its wine is considered to be very rich in extract and alcohol. It contains light tannins and today is mostly used as a blend with the Catarratto Bianco comune, Catarratto Bianco lucido and Inzolia varieties.

Apparently, the grape variety Grillo is a cross between the varieties Muscat d'Alexandrie and Catarratto Bianco. This was confirmed by a study in 2010. - Gerardo



´La Segreta´ · Grillo DOC 2023, Planeta, Sizilien

La Segreta · Grillo DOC 2023 (Bio)


Planeta, Sicily

Pale yellow color with green reflections. On the nose, varietal and primary aromas of citrus, white peach and tropical fruit. Fresh and soft on the palate. - Gerardo [TS08/24]

"Pale shimmering greenish yellow. Comes on the nose fresh meadow herbs, peach blossom, a touch of orange zest. Gentle attack with well-integrated acidity, pleasantly mineral, builds good tension, then slight restraint on the back end, finishes on salted lime." - Falstaff


Certified organic product.

0,75-LPrice incl. VAT (DE)  plus Shipping    contains Sulfites 13 % Vol. in stock

 € 8,50 11,33 €/L
     Details

´Shamaris´ · Grillo Sicilia DOC 2023, Cusumano, Sizilien

Shamaris · Grillo Sicilia DOC 2023


Cusumano, Sicily

Pure variety Grillo of pale yellow color. Intense and dense aroma of flowers, lime and some almond. Juicy on the palate with fine, refreshing acidity and persistent finish. - Gerardo [TS12/24]

"Light straw yellow with green reflections. In the nose nuances of yellow fruit, elderberry and lime, in the reverberation a touch of quince. On the palate exciting acidity spectrum, animates drinking, acts and ends slightly citrus." - Falstaff

"The nose on this Grillo brings out fruit, from peaches to yellow apples to grapefruit. The palate stays bright with citrus and adds the metallic tang of top soil with wild herbs poking through. This wine is juicy and fun, but focused. " - Wine Enthusiast


0,75-LPrice incl. VAT (DE)  plus Shipping    contains Sulfites 13 % Vol. in stock

 € 9,50 12,67 €/L
     Details

´Terebinto´ · Grillo Sicilia Menfi DOC 2023, Planeta, Sizilien
Terebinto · Grillo Sicilia Menfi DOC 2023 (Bio)

Planeta, Sicily

The Sicilian grape variety Grillo is aromatic with scents of apricot, medlar and yellow flowers of beeswax. The color is a bright yellow with greenish reflections. Fresh and lively with a subtle alcoholic presence. - Gerardo [TS08/24]

"Decent fruity bouquet with notes of honeydew melon, grapefruit and salt lemon. Has a pleasantly fresh and inviting effect. Full-bodied on the palate, ripe acidity, some exotic fruit, lots of citrus, mineral character. Long finish." - Falstaff


Certified organic product.

0,75-LPrice incl. VAT (DE)  plus Shipping    contains Sulfites 13,5 % Vol. in stock

 € 11,95 15,93 €/L
     Details

´Sur Sur´ · Grillo Sicilia DOC 2023, Donnafugata, Sizilien
Sur Sur · Grillo Sicilia DOC 2023

Donnafugata, Sicily

Fresh, typically Sicilian white wine made from Grillo grapes. On the nose, peach fruit and some grapefruit, with a subtle herbal note. In the drink of invigorating freshness and pleasant spiciness. - Gerardo [TS06/24]

0,75-LPrice incl. VAT (DE)  plus Shipping    contains Sulfites 12,5 % Vol. in stock

 € 12,95 17,27 €/L
     Details

´Salealto´ · Terre Siciliano Bianco IGT 2019, Cusumano, Sizilien
Salealto · Terre Siciliano Bianco IGT 2019

Cusumano, Sicily

Salealto, a three-part cuvée of Insolia, Zibbibo and Grillo shows a dense straw yellow color. The nose is complex and multilayered, of yellow fruit, floral aromas and spice. On the palate powerful and concentrated, of lavish fruit and depth. Mineral in the aftertaste. - Gerardo [TS12/20]

"Fresh thyme is intense on the nose, conveying wild mint, oregano and coastal scrub before a salty sea breeze comes through. The palate of this wine stays herbaceous, savory and salty, with highlights of lemon zest and a quiet but exciting heat." - Wine Enthusiast


The strike price shows the lowest price of the last 30 days.

0,75-LPrice incl. VAT (DE)  plus Shipping    contains Sulfites 12,5 % Vol. in stock

 € 21,95 € 19,99 26,65 €/L
     Details

´Salealto´ · Terre Siciliano Bianco IGT 2020, Cusumano, Sizilien
Salealto · Terre Siciliano Bianco IGT 2020

Cusumano, Sicily

Salealto, a three-part cuvée of Insolia, Zibbibo and Grillo shows a dense straw yellow color. The nose is complex and multilayered, of yellow fruit, floral aromas and spice. On the palate powerful and concentrated, of lavish fruit and depth. Mineral in the aftertaste. - Gerardo [TS12/21]

"Fresh thyme is intense on the nose, conveying wild mint, oregano and coastal scrub before a salty sea breeze comes through. The palate of this wine stays herbaceous, savory and salty, with highlights of lemon zest and a quiet but exciting heat." - Wine Enthusiast


0,75-LPrice incl. VAT (DE)  plus Shipping    contains Sulfites 12,5 % Vol. in stock

 € 22,95 30,60 €/L
     Details



Grillo | Grape variety | Buy at Gerardo

Das italienische Weindepot
 
 
Grillo | Rebsorte Grillo | Rebsorte

Grillo | Rebsorte



Die spät reife Weißweinsorte Grillo ist heute vorwiegend in Sizilien beheimatet. Das war jedoch nicht immer so. Sie kam erst Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts nach der großen Reblaus-Katastrophe aus der italienischen Provinz Apulien auf die Halbinsel. Während des Reblaus-Befalls wurde dort ein Großteil der heimischen Sorten zerstört, weshalb Bauern nun auf besonders widerstandsfähige Sorten, zu denen auch Grillo zählt, setzten. Auf Sizilien wird sie auch heute noch in allen Regionen angebaut. Auf dem Festland ist sie noch in der Provinz Brindisi zugelassen. Darüber hinaus gibt es neben Italien jedoch auch einige andere Länder, die Grillo anbauen. So gibt es etwa kleine Anbaugebiete in Australien, Mexiko und Brasilien.

Bei Grillo handelt es sich um eine Weißweinsorte, die einen blassgelben Wein erbringt. Sie wurde in Sizilien zunächst im bekannten Dessertwein Marsala eingesetzt, für den sie auch heute noch die Grundlage bildet. Allgemeinhin gilt ihr Wein als sehr extrakt- und alkoholreich. Er enthält leichte Gerbstoffe und wird heute meist als Verschnitt mit den Sorten Catarratto Bianco comune, Catarratto Bianco lucido und Inzolia verwendet.

Offenbar handelt es sich bei der Rebsorte Grillo um eine Kreuzung der Sorten Muscat d’Alexandrie und Catarratto Bianco. Dies konnte 2010 durch eine Studie bestätigt werden. - Gerardo



´La Segreta´ · Il Bianco IGT 2023, Planeta, Sizilien

La Segreta · Il Bianco IGT 2023 (Bio)


Planeta, Sizilien

Strohgelb mit zarten grünlichen Reflexen. Reichhaltig und spritzig in der Nase. Anklänge von grünen Zitrusfrüchten, Limette und Bergamotte, Pfirsich und weißer Melone. Frisch und vollmundig, mit einer frischen Säure, die den Geschmack verlängert und ausgleicht. Fein und aromatisch im Nachhall. - Gerardo [TS08/24]

"Helles Strohgelb. In der Nase sehr zurückhaltend, leichte gelbe Frucht. Cremiger Gaumeneintritt mit schmelzigem Körper, fruchtbetonter Mittelteil, im Finale angenehme und gut integrierte Säure." - Falstaff


Zertifiziertes Bio-Produkt.

0,75-LPreis inkl. USt (DE)  zzgl. Versand    enthält Sulfite 12,5 % Vol. am Lager

 € 8,50 11,33 €/L
     Details

´La Segreta´ · Grillo DOC 2023, Planeta, Sizilien

La Segreta · Grillo DOC 2023 (Bio)


Planeta, Sizilien

Blassgelbe Farbe mit grünen Reflexen. Im Bouquet sortentypische und primäre Aromen von Zitrusfrüchten, weißem Pfirsich und tropischen Früchten. Am Gaumen frisch und weich. - Gerardo [TS08/24]

"Blass schimmerndes Grüngelb. Kommt in der Nase auf frische Wiesenkräuter, Pfirsichblüte, ein Hauch Orangenzeste. Sanfter Auftakt mit gut integrierter Säure, angenehm mineralisch, baut gute Spannung auf, im hinteren Teil dann leichte Zurückhaltung, endet auf Salzlimette." - Falstaff


Zertifiziertes Bio-Produkt.

0,75-LPreis inkl. USt (DE)  zzgl. Versand    enthält Sulfite 13 % Vol. am Lager

 € 8,50 11,33 €/L
     Details

´Shamaris´ · Grillo Sicilia DOC 2022, Cusumano, Sizilien

Shamaris · Grillo Sicilia DOC 2022


Cusumano, Sizilien

Reiner, hellgelber Grillo. Intensives, dichtes Bouquet von Blumen, Limetten und einem Hauch von Mandeln. Am Gaumen ist er saftig, mit feiner, erfrischender Säure und einem lang anhaltenden Abgang. - Gerardo [TS12/23]

"Intensiv leuchtendes Zitronengelb. Überaus duftig nach Holunder und Linde, dazu gelbe Frucht, im Anklang reife Quitte. Spannt sich feinsamtig über die Zunge, wirkt kompakt im Kern, zeigt Druck und saftiges Spiel, feine Salzzitrone belebt den mittellangen Abgang." - Falstaff

"In der Nase zeigt dieser Grillo Früchte, von Pfirsichen über gelbe Äpfel bis hin zu Grapefruit. Der Gaumen bleibt hell mit Zitrusfrüchten und fügt den metallischen Geschmack des Bodens mit wilden Kräutern hinzu, die sich durchsetzen. Dieser Wein ist saftig und lustig, aber konzentriert." - Wine Enthusiast


Der Streichpreis zeigt den niedrigsten Preis der letzten 30 Tage.

0,75-LPreis inkl. USt (DE)  zzgl. Versand    enthält Sulfite 13,5 % Vol. am Lager

 € 9,50 € 8,90 11,87 €/L
     Details

´Sur Sur´ · Grillo Sicilia DOC 2023, Donnafugata, Sizilien
Sur Sur · Grillo Sicilia DOC 2023

Donnafugata, Sizilien

Frischer, typisch sizilianischer Weißwein aus der Grillo-Traube. In der Nase Pfirsichfrucht und etwas Grapefruit, mit einer subtilen Kräuternote. Im Trunk von belebender Frische und angenehmer Würzigkeit. - Gerardo [TS06/24]

0,75-LPreis inkl. USt (DE)  zzgl. Versand    enthält Sulfite 12,5 % Vol. am Lager

 € 12,95 17,27 €/L
     Details

´Salealto´ · Terre Siciliano Bianco IGT 2019, Cusumano, Sizilien
Salealto · Terre Siciliano Bianco IGT 2019

Cusumano, Sizilien

Salealto, eine dreiteilige Cuvée aus Insolia, Zibbibo und Grillo, hat eine intensive strohgelbe Farbe. Das Bouquet ist komplex und vielschichtig, mit gelben Früchten, blumigen Aromen und Gewürzen. Am Gaumen ist er kraftvoll und konzentriert, mit reichlich Frucht und Tiefe. Mineralisch im Nachgeschmack. - Gerardo [TS12/20]

"Frischer Thymian ist intensiv in der Nase und vermittelt wilde Minze, Oregano und Küstengestrüpp, bevor eine salzige Meeresbrise durchkommt. Am Gaumen bleibt dieser Wein krautig, würzig und salzig, mit Highlights von Zitronenschale und einer ruhigen, aber aufregenden Wärme." - Wine Enthusiast


Der Streichpreis zeigt den niedrigsten Preis der letzten 30 Tage.

0,75-LPreis inkl. USt (DE)  zzgl. Versand    enthält Sulfite 12,5 % Vol. am Lager

 € 21,95 € 19,99 26,65 €/L
     Details

´Salealto´ · Terre Siciliano Bianco IGT 2020, Cusumano, Sizilien
Salealto · Terre Siciliano Bianco IGT 2020

Cusumano, Sizilien

Salealto, eine dreiteilige Cuvée aus Insolia, Zibbibo und Grillo, hat eine intensive strohgelbe Farbe. Das Bouquet ist komplex und vielschichtig, mit gelben Früchten, blumigen Aromen und Gewürzen. Am Gaumen ist er kraftvoll und konzentriert, mit reichlich Frucht und Tiefe. Mineralisch im Nachgeschmack. - Gerardo [TS12/21]

"Frischer Thymian ist intensiv in der Nase und vermittelt wilde Minze, Oregano und Küstengestrüpp, bevor eine salzige Meeresbrise durchkommt. Am Gaumen bleibt dieser Wein krautig, würzig und salzig, mit Highlights von Zitronenschale und einer ruhigen, aber aufregenden Wärme." - Wine Enthusiast


0,75-LPreis inkl. USt (DE)  zzgl. Versand    enthält Sulfite 12,5 % Vol. am Lager

 € 22,95 30,60 €/L
     Details



Grillo | Rebsorte | Bei Gerardo kaufen